These Forums have been Archived.

You cannot post new messages or reply to old ones here.

Please use our new forums located here
or click "Discuss" in the menu on our new site.

Raynaud's Association
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Purple feet
Topic Summary:
Created On: 06/14/2010 04:32 PM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 06/14/2010 04:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lorgirl

Hi

Newbie here. I have been diagnosed with Raynauds. Most likely secondary, yet no other symptoms as of yet of anything else.

When I first noticed I had this, my fingertips on one hand felt numb due to being very cold. Since I started paying attention to this, my hands (mainly fingers) on occasion will turn reddish and sometimes a little purple.

The problem I seem to be having is more in my feet and is making me wonder if it is really Raynauds in my feet or something different. My whole foot tends to go purple even when I am not very cold. Plus, it is usually only when I'm sitting. I was sitting at work today at my computer and both feet were purple. When I got up to walk somewhere, I looked at the bottom of my feet and they were totally white with small patches of red. If I held my foot up for a bit, the reddness would come back. My feet weren't cold, numb or painful. Does this sound like Raynaud's?

Thanks
 06/14/2010 08:29 PM

Author Icon
DragonflyC

You might want to take some pictures of your feet when you are having this kind of attack and show them to a rheumatologist (the pictures are just in case you don't have purple feet during your visit). What you are describing could be Raynaud's--I know that it certainly affects my feet--but I'd have it checked out if your instincts are telling you that it might be something else.
 08/30/2010 06:07 PM

Author Icon
Gerty